New here, quit at 940 pm on Friday April 13

10 posts, 0 answered
  1. smokefreesteph
    smokefreesteph avatar
    5 posts
    16 Apr 2018
    15 Apr 2018
    Link to this post
    Hi, my name is steph, I have been smoking a pack of cigarettes everyday for 25 years.  With 3 atempts never longer than 6 months.  My mother died 15 months ago from lung cancer, she quit for 2 years before she was diagnosed at 59, the disease took her from us in 9 months.  I have a teenager who absolutely hates my smoking.  It's been a true love hate relationship with tobacco for years.  My family is supportive.  My partner smokes, but we don't live together so that helps, he also doesn't do it in front of me now.  So I started taking cha pix on my moms birthday one month ago, and officially quit on Friday April 13th.  Fingers crossed, it hasn't been as challenging as previous attempts, but still struggling with frequent cravings.  Using the occasional Nicolette lozenge to help.  
    looking forward to the support, guidance and providing some support on here too
  2. treepeo
    treepeo avatar
    832 posts
    29 Nov 2017
    16 Apr 2018
    Link to this post
    Hi smokefreesteph,

I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your mother, especially at such a young age.  What makes it worse is that her illness was a direct result of smoking.  That is a wake up call for all of us.

It is great that you have decided to quit once again.  It doesn't matter that you weren't successful in the past.  Just try to learn from your past experiences, and make this attempt a successful one. You have two really good reasons to quit.  One is for you and you alone.  The other is for your daughter.

Remember to drink lots of water, and do things to distract yourself.  Make a list of all the reasons why you want to quit, and refer to it often.

You can do this, smokefreesteph.  Believe in yourself!
  3. eagerquit
    eagerquit avatar
    415 posts
    07 Mar 2018
    16 Apr 2018
    Link to this post